Nominations Sought for John A. Reed, Jr. Spirit of the Community Award

By T. Hill; Director, FBC Black History Ministry |  January 6, 2020

Fairview Missionary Baptist Church will accept nominations for recipients of the “John A. Reed, Jr. Spirit of the Community Award.”  Nominees should be dedicated servants of the community with a proven track record of continued service.  The categories include community activism, education, politics or civic service, professional service, and religious service.

The “John A. Reed, Jr. Spirit of the Community Award,” was created in 2010 as a way to recognize Oklahoma citizens who have gone above the “call of duty” by volunteering their time and resources for the betterment of the community.  Previous award recipients include community leaders: Federal District Court Judge Vicki Miles-LaGrange, former State Representative Kevin Cox, former State Senators Angela Z. Monson, Anastasia A. Pittman and the late E. Melvin Porter, and the late Clara Shepard Luper, Pastors W.B. Parker, James H. Tucker, and Lee E. Cooper, Jr.

Nominations will be accepted beginning Friday, January 10, 2020, and ending on Monday, February 10, 2020.  Late nominations will not be accepted.   Members of the community are encouraged to submit nominations.

The nomination form and additional materials must be submitted as one packet. Nomination forms are available online at  Please mail nomination forms to Fairview Baptist Church, P.O. Box 36188, Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73136.

For more information, please contact Teresa R. Hill, Black History Ministry Director at or call the church office at (405) 232-1621 or visit