John A. Reed, Jr. Spirit of the Community Award


Call for Nominations - 
The “John A. Reed, Jr. Spirit of the Community Award,” was created in as a way to recognize citizens who have gone above the call of duty by volunteering their time and resources for the betterment of the community. Previous award recipients include: Federal District Court Judge Vicki Miles-LaGrange, former State Representative Kevin Cox, former State Senators Judy Eason McIntyre, Angela Monson, E. Melvin Porter, the late Clara Luper, and the late Dr. Ernest L. Holloway.
Fairview Missionary Baptist Church, through its Black History Ministry, is accepting nominations for recipients of the award. Nominees should be dedicated servants of the community with a proven track record of continued service through community activism, education, political activities, professional service, or religious service.
Nominations will be accepted beginning January 13, 2019 and ending on February 8, 2019. Late nominations will not be accepted. Members of the community are encouraged to submit nominations. The nomination form and additional materials must be submitted as one packet. A complete packet will include the following:
  1. Nomination form
  2. Biography (No more than two paragraphs)
  3. Nomination Statement (No more than two pages double-spaced)
  4. Two letters of recommendation
All materials for the nomination packet must be submitted together.
The nomination packet must be received on or before February 8, 2019.

Via Mail:                                      OR             Via Email:                             OR                 Via Fax:
Teresa Hill, Director                                                            (405) 232-5459 
Black History Ministry           
Fairview MIssionary Baptist Church
P. O. Box 36188
Oklahoma City, OK 73136
Persons selected for the award will be recognized at 10:00am on February 24, 2019 at Fairview.

For any questions, please contact the Black History Ministry at (405) 232-1621 or
Click the link below to download nomination form and detailed instructions.

Spirit of the Community Award - Microsoft Word Format
Spirit of the Community Award - PDF Format