John A. Reed, Jr. Spirit of the Community Awards

Nominations Being Accepted

By E. Harris |  January 2, 2013

Fairview Missionary Baptist Church is accepting nominations for recipients of the “John A. Reed, Jr. Spirit of the Community Award.” Nominees should be dedicated servants of the community with a proven track record of continued service through community activism, education, politics or civic service, professional service, or religious service.

The “John A. Reed, Jr. Spirit of the Community Award,” was created in 2010 as a way to recognize citizens who have gone above the call of duty by volunteering their time and resources for the betterment of the community. The Black History Ministry, who reviews nominations, named the award after Fairview’s Pastor, Dr. John A. Reed, Jr., in honor of his 50th Pastoral Anniversary, which will be celebrated in March of this year. Previous award recipients include: Federal District Court Judge Vicki Miles-LaGrange, former State Representative Kevin Cox, former State Senators Judy Eason McIntyre, Angela Monson, E. Melvin Porter, the late Clara Luper, and the late Dr. Ernest L. Holloway.

Nominations will be accepted beginning January 6, 2013 and ending at 5:00pm on January 25, 2013. Late nominations will not be accepted. Members of the community are encouraged to submit nominations. The nomination form and additional materials must be submitted as one packet. Nomination forms are available online at or at the church office.

For more information, please contact the church office at (405) 232-1621 or visit the church website