By E. Harris |  January 12, 2016

(January 7, 2016)  Fairview Missionary Baptist Church is accepting nominations for recipients of the “John A. Reed, Jr. Spirit of the Community Award.” Nominees should be dedicated servants of the community with a proven track record of continued service through community activism, education, politics or civic service, professional service, or religious service.
The “John A. Reed, Jr. Spirit of the Community Award,” was created in 2010 as a way to recognize citizens who have gone above the call of duty by volunteering their time and resources for the betterment of the community. Previous award recipients include: Federal District Court Judge Vicki Miles-LaGrange, former State Representative Kevin Cox, former State Senators Judy Eason McIntyre, Angela Monson, and E. Melvin Porter, and the late Clara Luper.
Nominations will be accepted beginning January 11, 2016 and ending on February 7, 2016. Late nominations will not be accepted. Members of the community are encouraged to submit nominations. The nomination form and additional materials must be submitted as one packet. Nomination forms are available online at or at the church office.
For more information, please contact the church office at (405) 232-1621 or visit